Online Video NewsYouTubeHow To Use The New YouTube Incognito Mode?

Shruti Sen5 months ago

When it comes to watching videos, a major chunk of the internet audience turns to YouTube. The YouTube algorithm is such that it suggests you video content according to your search history that it stores over time as you keep using the platform. However, many times a user might not want their watched videos to be stored in YouTube’s history.

Finally, there is a solution for it now as YouTube has rolled out the Incognito Mode for it’s Android app users. With all the scandals and breaches occurring across the internet, it’s only natural that apps like YouTube review their privacy policies and make sure they upgrade their services to better serve their users.

This YouTube Incognito mode works in the exact same way as the Chrome Incognito Mode which allows users to browse without having a trail of their activities being tracked and stored in History. Currently, this mode is only available for Android smartphone users and no information has been given yet about it rolling out to iOS devices such as iPhone & iPad as well.

Here is a Step-by-Step Guide on how to use the new YouTube Incognito Mode:

  • First and foremost you need to update your YouTube app from the Play Store if you don’t have automatic updates turned on.
  • After you’ve done that, open the YouTube app from the shortcut or launcher.
  • Now go to the top right corner of the app and click on your YouTube channel avatar.
  • Then click on the Account section and tap on ‘Turn On YouTube Incognito Mode’ to get started.
  • Once you’re done with your private viewing, simply click the icon in the top right corner and select “Turn Off YouTube Incognito Mode”. This will also be appearing at the bottom-right of the screen to remind you that it is off.

Once you’ve gone YouTube Incognito Mode, the avatar icon will be replaced by the black Incognito logo and a black bar at the bottom which indicates the message that “You’re incognito”. However, there is one thing to note that only the Home and Trending feeds are accessible to view in this YouTube Incognito Mode. When you try to click on the Subscriptions, Inbox, Library, and Search tabs, these will remind you that content is hidden and that nothing is being saved to your history. You will have to “Turn Off YouTube Incognito Mode” if you want to add a video to a playlist, comment or share a video.

Considering that there is little to no extreme content on YouTube, you might wonder what purpose this YouTube Incognito Mode serves. Well, at the first thought it doesn’t seem to make much sense but when you come to think of it, this mode will work wonders to stop allowing YouTube from promoting you content based on your watch history. This control over what videos a user is being suggested is something that many people would definitely want. So go ahead and give it a try.

Shruti Sen

I love to explore challenging opportunities in the field of Digital Media. Primarily, my skills revolve around Digital Video in terms of Content Strategy/Marketing, Analysis and Audience Development. My natural affinity towards diverse audio-visual content across platforms helps me develop a multitude of perspectives. In totality - I'm a keen learner, collector of new enriching experiences and have an undying conviction to always stay curious in life!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts